Egypt; Historical inspiration

Egypt is a great country steeped in thousands of years of history and culture. I’ve loved reading and learning about it since I was young and I’ve also completed two Egyptology courses with Exeter University.

dsc00004

A few years ago, after finishing my first course, I decided to write a book set there. I love the history of Ancient Egypt and I wanted to immerse myself in that history whilst writing a story about a subject that is quite important to me; family ties and the illegal theft of historical artefacts. After a lot of hard work and further research I’ve managed to write a historical suspense that combines both subjects and I can’t wait to share with my readers.

Wind Across the Nile, will be released this year and it centres on Cora Thomas, a woman who’s faced with having to rebuild her life after the tragic loss of family and splitting up with her cheating ex-boyfriend. After a strange discovery in her parents house, Egypt becomes Cora’s sanctuary, where she discovers more about herself, her family heritage and the amazing history of Egypt.

mvc00120

I enjoyed writing Wind Across the Nile, it’s a book that’s full of passion, and shows how much I adore the country and its incredible history. There’s so much to see. Cairo; the home of the vast Egyptian Museum, Giza Plateau and The Citadel. Luxor; the home of the Valley of the Kings, Luxor and Karnak Temples and the Luxor and Mummification Museums. Aswan; the home of the Temple of Philae on Philae island, the Monastery of St Simeon and Elephantine Island. Further afield there is Abu Simbel, Alexandria, Sharm El Sheik and Abydos.

Researching the book was a lot of fun, and I was able to use much of what I learned from my Egyptology courses, as well as trips to the country with my husband, and regular visits to the British Museum, Petrie Museum and other museums housing Egyptian artefacts.

4594693899_103d86087c_b

Over the next few months, I’ll be writing a series of posts about Egypt and many of the ancient sites that I’ve visited in Cairo and Luxor that all go towards making up the backdrop of Wind Across the Nile. I can’t wait for you to read them!

Wind Across the Nile – Coming soon!

cp_watn_vis1

Leave a Reply

